Loading color scheme



Trail Blazer

To recognize and honor a creative and innovative Public Health Director who has less than five years’ experience, which has demonstrated great leadership skills. Guidelines recognize the qualities of loyalty, devotion and perseverance for the betterment of public health departments, with an impact on comprehensive public health services.

Past Winners:

2019: Rebecca Kissick
2018: Dr. Sarah Moyer
2017: Andrea Renfrow - Bullitt County
2016: Sara Jo Best – Lincoln Trail District
2015: Andrew Beckett – Bourbon County
2014: Randy Gooch – Jessamine County
2013: Crystal Miller – WEDCO
2012: Allison Adams – Buffalo Trace
2011: Brandon Hurley – Anderson County
2010: Scott Lockard – Clark County
2009: Paula Alexander – Franklin County
2008: Jim Tolley - Pennyrile
2007: Faith Frazier - Lawrence County
2006: Rebecca Tandy - Monroe County
2005: Dennis Chaney - Barren River District

Outstanding Director

To honor and recognize exceptional and meritorious achievement as a Public Health Director. Guidelines will recognize contributions to the improvement of the overall status of health departments across this great commonwealth, must have five years or more of experience as a Public Health Director, must reflect innovative and creative approaches with an impact on comprehensive public health services.

Past Winners:

2019: Randy Gooch
2018: Shawn Crabtree
2017: Allison Adams - Buffalo Trace District
2016: Dr. Georgia Heise – Three Rivers District
2015: Dennis Chaney – Barren River District
2014: Scott Lockard – Clark County
2013: Jen Harris – Todd County
2012: Mark Hensley - Laurel County
2011: Bertie K. Salyer – Magoffin County
2010: Georgia Heise – Three Rivers District
2009: Paul Hopkins - Pike County
2008: Garland VanZant - Woodford County
2007: Jim Rousey - Madison County
2006: Linda Sims - Lincoln Trail
2005: Ned Fitzgibbons - Bullitt County

Lifetime Achievement

To recognize and honor an individual who over the course of his or her career, has made significant contribution to Public Health. Guidelines will recognize at least two of the following criteria: mentoring and practice at the local and state level; leadership role in the county/district and state or national level; at least 15 years’ experience in public health in a leadership or director role.

Past Winners:

2019: Maria Hardy
2018: Jan Chamness
2017: Scott Lockard - Clark County
2016: Thursa Sloan – Floyd County

Related Articles

Publish modules to the "offcanvs" position.